31 Days of Intentional Living: Setting Goals with an Action Plan

Good afternoon friends!

I have to say, I am feeling pretty good about this 31 Days of Intentional Living Challenge. I am proud to say I have kept up with reading 30 minutes each day and have been reading much more than that on occasion. I called the bakery this morning and began a conversation with our rehearsal dinner venue. I mailed off our wedding invitations and have been working out regularly. It’s almost been a week and I am definitely loving how productive and fulfilled my time is. And as I promised yesterday, I said a prayer last night and will continue to pray and meditate on finding a spiritual mentor. But now I am ready to take on:

Day 6: Setting Goals with an Action Plan

To kick-start the goal setting process, Jenny suggested we either learn or review How to Set S.M.A.R.T. Goals. As a Millennial who has held countless leadership positions, I have done S.M.A.R.T. Goals dozens of times in the workplace and in organizations. However, I have never done them personally and I am excited to give this a shot.

Following Jenny’s other tips, I have constructed these goals based on my priorities:

  • Family & Relationships
    • I will call 1 family member every Sunday at 2:00 p.m. in 2017.
    • I will text/call 1 friend every Sunday at 3:00 p.m. in 2017.
  • Mental Wellness
    • I will read for 30 minutes every day from now until August (I start graduate school so I may not be able to keep this up after that).
  • Physical Wellness
    • I will be at the gym exercising for at 30 minutes, 5 days a week until the wedding! (This will help my self-esteem for sure.)
  • Nature & The Outdoors
    • I will go on one outside walk every two weeks from now until August.

These feel pretty comfortable, but only achievable with intentionality. I’m excited to give them a shot. You’ll notice they are all measurable and specific and will help not only meet my short term goals, but build towards my 5 year and lifelong goals, as well.

To stay on track I have set alarms in my phone to remind of those Sunday phone calls. I can already think of the first people I need to contact.

I am going to keep a spreadsheet (Geeky, I know). I can use that to track my commitments and reward myself for a job well done. (See…positive thinking! I can do it!)

 

What are your tips to add action to your goals? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

