31 Days of Intentional Living: Eat That Frog!

Today is technically the fifth day, but I am doing Day 4 of the 31 Days of Intentional Living Challenge! It took me an extra day for Day 3: Simplify Your Life. A weird phenomenon occurred yesterday where I was up for 22 straight hours. After sleeping from 5 p.m. until 1 a.m. yesterday, I woke up ready to take on the day. I reorganized the bathroom, ran errands, went to the gym, cleaned the kitchen and the fridge, did laundry, vacuumed…it seriously was beautiful. I threw out tons of old stuff I no longer used or wanted. It was liberating because I usually feel guilty about throwing things away BUT this time I was just doing what I was supposed to.

I’ve been continuing this purge today and plan to do my clothes this afternoon when I am done writing this post and have worked on some wedding invitations. But I must say: TODAY’S CHALLENGE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE TIMELY!

Day 4: Eat That Frog!

There’s an old saying that if the first thing you do each morning is to eat a live frog, you’ll have the satisfaction of knowing that it’s probably the worst thing you’ll do all day. The point of Day 4 and Eating The Frog is to quit procrastinating! Stop putting off that ONE things you don’t really want to do. If you just bit the bullet and eat the frog before you do anything else, you should be able to breeze through the rest of your tasks and your day.

SO…You’re encouraged to pick out what that most difficult or dreaded task is and DO IT FIRST! Then, you can look at the rest of your tasks and pick the next “frog” and the next “frog”.

No matter what happens the rest of the day, even if you pass out from a headache at 5 p.m. you will still feel like you accomplished something. (And if you read my priorities, feeling productive is a BIG priority!)

The challenge for today: Identify your “frog”!

My frog is calling the bakery to find out if they are willing to take on a large order of donuts for our wedding. My social anxiety makes these kinds of calls so nerve-wracking. And this is something I have been putting off for months. What if the owner is mean? What if they think I’m asking stupid questions?

But I will follow through on this challenge like all of the challenges laid out before me. I will call the bakery first thing tomorrow morning. I will leave for work early and when I arrive I will stay in my car and make the call. That’s it. I will do it.

I’ll be sure to let you all know what he says!!!! Wish me luck!

What is your “frog”? Let me know in the comments below!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. You can do this!

    My current “frog” is talking with my husband about a fall trip to Ireland! It’s quite a big frog that has been lingering / waiting for me to “eat” for some time now.

    Good luck to both of us!

    Like

    1. kmeyers12 says:

      Yes, good luck! Planning trips can be exhausting, but it sounds like it will be loads of fun once the work is done.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

