31 Days of Intentional Living: Developing Healthy Habits

“Habit is a cable; we weave a thread each day, and at last we cannot break it.”  ~Horace Mann

It’s Day 2 of the 31 Days of Intentional Living Challenge. Yesterday, I worked out my priorities and goals. Ironically, we then did a development activity at work this morning where we sorted through value cards to discern our top three values.

With all of this introspection, centeredness, and self-awareness under my belt I feel quite prepared to face this next challenge:

Day 2: Developing Health Habits!

The challenge for today was: Decide on a healthy habit that you would like to add into your life! Schedule a date to begin working on your new habit and follow the steps above.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

SIMPLE IS BEST  – Jenny suggests starting simple and so simple it will be. I am only choosing one habit to start at this time and I will keep it small.

SUBSTITUTE LOST NEEDS – She also suggests replacing a bad habit with a good habit! The habit that most works against my priorities of having projects, learning new things, and spending time outside is watching television or scrolling through my phone at home to pass the time. Instead, I will read a book for at least 30 minutes every day. I will get back to the roots of what I used to love to do!!!

COMMIT FOR THE LONG HAUL – Unlike my previous goal where I wanted to lose weight before my first wedding dress fitting, I want this habit to be long lasting! Not just this month, but for the next year and hopefully years to come!

BE CONSISTENT & REMINDERS, REMINDERS! – Jenny suggests doing your habit in the same place at the same time every single day. This will make the habit easier to adopt and more likely to stick. And for those days that start to get difficult, set yourself a reminder! I haven’t worked out these details yet, honestly. (Today is my birthday, so my schedule is off anyways.) I plan on starting tomorrow. However, I plan on picking up a book and sitting quietly in my bedroom to enjoy the solitude.

GET RID OF TEMPTATIONS – Since I am being INTENTIONAL about this choice, I will be leaving my cell phone in the living room. There will be no temptation to play on my phone and check Snapchat. No, no, no.

TRACK YOUR PROGRESS & REWARD YOURSELF – I am going to create a chart to put on our refrigerator and track each day that I’ve read thirty minutes. At the end of two full months, I plan to reward myself with a pedicure OR a new book.

 

SO…What are my concerns and expectations?

Honestly, the most intimidating thing about reading 30 minutes each day is just making the time. I am having trouble seeing what I can cut out for 30 minutes of reading that wouldn’t sacrifice time spent with my fiance. I suppose, solitary reading is just that….solitary.

Don’t worry, ya’ll! I can do this. I will do this. And I hope that my mind and spirit will grow and that I will feel better about the way that I spend some of my daily free time!

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

    1. kmeyers12 says:

      Thank you! I was greatly blessed once again with a wonderful day full of friends and family and laughter!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

