31 Days of Intentional Living: Setting Priorities

“Things which matter most must never be at the mercy of things which matter least.”

– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I have failed in the past on these kind of “challenges”, but my world is absolutely crashing down around me (or at least that’s what my depression and anxiety are telling me.)

After reaching out for help with making the changes I want for myself, a dear friend from a few years back reached out with the advice to try implementing intentional living habits. A quick Google search brought me to this beautiful blog series: 31 Days of Intentional LivingHow much simpler could this be made for me?

 

So here I am at DAY 1: Setting Priorities!

The challenge for today was: Take 10 minutes and write down what is most important to you. Be as clear and specific as you can! Write out your goals for the next year, 5 years from now and your lifetime goals. When you look at these goals, are the activities you are participating in aligning with your goals? If not, it may be time to start changing up your schedule!

Here was my response:

What is most important to you?

  • family and relationships
  • mental wellness — “me” time
  • physical wellness — exercise, good nutrition, ample sleep
  • being outside in the sun & with nature
  • feeling productive — having projects and learning new things

What are your goals for the next year?

  • start graduate school
  • get married
  • start making student loan payments
  • eat better
  • lose weight
  • talk to friends and family regularly

What are your goals for the next 5 years?

  • pay off student loans
  • move up in the office
  • get my Master’s degree
  • be involved with my community/sorority/campus

What are your lifetime goals?

  • leave the world better than I found it
  • leave an impact on the people and communities I love
  • love myself & others with everything I have
  • stay active!
  • have fun!

 

SO…Are the activities that I participate in aligning with my goals?

No, not really. I feel discouraged and overwhelmed by trying to keep in touch with everyone in my life. I do get plenty of “me” time, but I spend it doing things like watching tv and scrolling through my phone. I get up in the morning after hitting snooze 3 times (and yes, it’s the same amount every morning). Then, I groan about having to wake up because I LOVE SLEEP. I rush around to get ready and go to work. During my hour for lunch, I eat and watch tv and cuddle with my cat. And after I get off of work at 5, I come home and make dinner, eat and watch tv, and then get ready for the gym. Then, I come home and shower and go to sleep.  And on weekends I am prone to sleep in, lay around wondering what to do, watch tv, and clean house. These habits certainly aren’t getting me out in nature or bringing me closer to my friends and family. They won’t help me meet many of my goals.

This exercise was eye-opening. No wonder I feel lousy. I may be doing a good job getting enough sleep, but I am doing nothing to reach my goals and follow my priorities. I am looking forward to what the next month will hold for my life.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. MakeItUltra™ says:

    Great post! ✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmeyers12 says:

      Thank you!!! Your blog has some great articles that I want to check out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

