I Know Where I Stand

If the VeggieTales were a part of your childhood, then you are in good company, here! Do you, by chance, remember this song?

“I remember stand! Stand up! Stand up! For what you believe in, believe in.”

It’s from “Rack, Shack, and Benny”, a VeggieTales movie telling the story Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. They were three young men, who despite the threat of losing their lives stood up for their Christian values and beliefs. Now, I’m not here to preach the Gospel at you today, but I do think that this story gives us a great lesson about consistency and commitment.

THE TEST

After taking the StrengthsFinder2.0, I found out that I have a strength in Consistency. This means that I feel passionately about treating people fairly and that I like to have consistency in my day to day life. YEP, that is me to a “t”! Please don’t bombard me with last minute plans and don’t interrupt my sleep schedule and don’t you dare treat me differently just because I am a woman. That assessment hit the nail on the head.

THE ACTION PLAN

One WONDERFUL resource available after purchasing the book and taking the assessment is that you can create a customized action plan to help you grow and develop your natural strength areas. So far I have started chipping away at this action plan that I created, in hopes that I will make significant progress at my one-month follow up (Which, yes, I did set for myself.) Today’s post is inspired by this action:

Make a list of the rules of consistency by which you can live.

These rules might be based on certain values or policies that I have that I consider to be “non-negotiables”. You might not be so surprised to know that I have done this exercise before (probably in high school). I turned to Google to help me find some inspiration and found this site! It is a great guide to follow if you, too, would like to take some time and set your rules of consistency. Torie, the author, explains non-negotiables in a way much better than I could. So I challenge you now to answer this question:

“If the shit-hit-the-fan tomorrow would you have no problem making decisions because you have mentally prepared yourself on what ultimately guides your decisions?”

MY NON-NEGOTIABLES

  • Because I have experienced agape, unconditional love, I value love over all things.

  • I am committed to my family and to supporting them and encouraging them.

  • I will come home and spend time with The Mister every single night.

  • I WILL NOT CONDONE VIOLENCE. (I can barely even tolerate fake violence in movies.)

  • I will always bring light to the truth.

  • I will listen and respond to what my body is telling me it needs.

  • I will follow my conscience and gut as my moral guide.

If everything came crashing down tomorrow, I would respond in love, truth, and peace. I would stay committed to family and The Mister. I know that I would let these rules guide my actions. I would stand up for what I believe in!

What are your non-negotiables? Please share in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

