Like a Bridge

The Why

I joined the working world 7 months ago and I do not miss living on a college campus ONE BIT. I have reveled in the newfound free-time I have every evening starting at 5pm. No one expects me to lead their meeting. No one expects me to host an event for my fellow students. No one wants me to read 57 pages for tomorrow morning. No one wants me to join in on Wine Wednesdays or Thirsty Thursdays. I am 100% free!

So I stay home. And I watch shows. And I play games with The Mister. My introvert nature thrives in this routine that I have found. But my need to relate to those that I love and hold dearest is not being fed. My need to gather information and share in discussion and study with intelligent people is not being fed. Addressing my lack of interaction and time with loved ones is just something I will have to work harder at. But to fill the deficit that has ailed my intellect, I have committed to writing this blog.

The Who:

No, this section is not about the band. It is about me! As a young lady in my early 20’s, I have just started my first long-term, full-time, professional job. I have a huge and supportive family back in Indiana and a genuine and giving fiance (The Mister) here in Illinois. I enjoy crafting, outdoor activities like hiking and fishing, and time spent with my loved ones or alone in introspection and thought. I have worked through mental illness to develop strong self-worth and a healthy lifestyle. I am passionate about education, children and youth activities, and seeing and treating all people justly because of their humanity.

The How:

I titled this blog “Sail On Silvergirl” from the lyrics to Simon and Garfunkel’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water”. I have a strong belief that all of us in this world are connected, if by nothing else, through our humanity. I seek peace and harmony not only in my own life, but in my workplace and the people around me. This song has always resonated deep inside me because it speaks for the kind of person I want to be. When times get rough and pain in all around, when darkness comes and the tears fall, I want to be that bridge. I want to be a comforter and a friend to all. And if you haven’t felt that times can get rough and that you may be scared or lonely, then you must be the luckiest person in the whole world. It does not matter who you are, hard times will come. They will come personally and they will come in big scale tragedies. It’s not a matter of if, but when. And when they come I want to be a bridge. I want to lay myself down to be used for comfort safety. “I will ease your mind”. This blog will be dedicated to my thoughts and my convictions. It will help me share my hopes and dreams. And hopefully, it will help me to be like a bridge over troubled water.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Genius Mikhail says:

    I wish you well in your career. Tip: excel by taking it as a complete lifestyle & take it home, self improve in every aspect of it. If you wish so. That’s a proven way to be an excellent employee.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bill says:

      It’s also an excellent way to become a driven, one-dimensional “human doing,” instead of a multi-faceted human being.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    I, LOVE, you blog name!!! That is a special song to me, and has a great intent in it as well. 🙂
    Welcome to to blogging world!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ryo112358 says:

    Quite a noble mission, very similar to mine. Welcome to the blogosphere!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmeyers12 says:

      Thank you! If we are not the ones to speak out, then who will?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bill says:

    Love your writing and the peek at your soul.

    Like

Leave a Reply

